Ever used Gishy Goo to relieve braces pain?


I just found a link to a product called Gishy Goo from Opal Orthodontics. Has anyone tried this? It’s supposed to be better than wax or silicon for covering up a poky wire, hook or bracket edge while your mouth gets used to the feeling. I know I could never get silicon to stick, and wax would often be hard to get the right thickness. This comes as a dual-tube of two gels/pastes that mix together when you squeeze the handle.

If you’ve used Gishy Goo, I’d be interested in hearing your opinion.

7 responses to “Ever used Gishy Goo to relieve braces pain?

  1. I love this stuff! I am a older patient and this is perfect for me. The old school wax does not stay put or mold. If the goo is to soft you have to hurry up and roll it around in your palm and try again real fast before it gets to hard. Once you have used this you will love it.

  2. Thanks for the input! It's always good to hear from someone who's been there.

  3. I just got some in the mail and this is my first day using it.I'm 30, btw.I have tried wax and this is far better. More expensive but less gross, more solid, sticks better, comes off easier. I like it a lot.

  4. To me, having it actually stick is crucial; silicon came right off, and wax only lasted for maybe an hour. This is good to know; I'll pass it along.

  5. I am a treatment coordinator for an orthodontic office and I also have braces. I have been in the orthodontic field for many years and I have never seen anything provide relief for any sustainable amount of time like Gishy Goo. It is a bit costly and that is its only downfall. I use it myself and have found that it will stay on through eating, drinking, and talking.

  6. I too am an adult orthodontia patient (3rd time in braces!). I received this as a sample and was trying to order more which lead me to your comments. This stuff is fantastic!

  7. gishy goo is a life saver. my only regret is that i didn't ask my ortho what he could do to help me 2 days ago…..the lacerations in my mouth are unbelievably horrible and the gishygoo is the only stuff that is able to stick….so far back in my mouth….the silicon wax that worked in front as long as i dried off well just kept falling off because i needing to put in on so far back which was hard to see or manipulate. yes gishygoo is expensive, but you know what, it's worth it. just ordered 3 tubes of it. i don't want to be without it ever again.

Leave a Reply

