Bite plates, retainers and lip-bumpers – oh, my!

Even if you’ve had braces for a while, you may still not have worn every possible style of orthodontic hardware (in fact, I hope not – that would be pretty intense). The names can be confusing, so I’m excited that I just found an orthodontist’s website that has a great section of explanations with photos – so helpful. Check out the website of Drs. Badger, Spiller and Varble in Clarksville, Indiana. Under “Appliances” you can click to see and learn the details of such items as:

Separators
Rapid Palatal Expander
Lip Bumper (a new one to me!)
Bite Plate
Retainers
Herbst Appliance

Check it out and you’ll be better prepared for the next stage in your orthodontic adventure.

One response to “Bite plates, retainers and lip-bumpers – oh, my!

  1. After I took off my braces and had my checkup at a local Mount Pleasant dental clinic they advised me that they would now let me use a Lip Bumper which was really new to me, so before I finally decided to let them have it on to me I did a little research.

Leave a Reply

